It’s Always Sunny In LA. Really, it is.

So 2 days ago I got back from an amazing vacation in Los Angeles. I don’t even know where to start, so let’s talk about how obsessed I am with the weather there. I may live in the South, but goodness I hate the weather here, so it was no surprise that I loved LA’s never humid, always sunny, 70 degree weather. I think I saw maybe one cloud in the sky the whole time? It’s so amazing. A few mornings I was tricked into thinking it was going to be overcast but then I realized it was just the smog, which lifted soon after to reveal a vivid blue sky. Love it.

If this sky isn't perfect, I don't know what is

Being a total tourist, I took over 600 pictures of the many places we visited. (If you’re friends with me on facebook, you should go see the 200 I managed to narrow them down to.) And boy did we do a lot. I’m talking up early every morning with full days lasting until at least midnight. We did the typical tourist things- Santa Monica, Hollywood, Rodeo Dr, a studio tour (which included being 5 feet from Brad Pitt filming his new film, Moneyball), museums, an Angels baseball game, and driving around in Malibu, Beverly Hills and Bel Air to see the gorgeous houses! I have to say I definitely fell in love with LA and California in general. There’s just so much going on there and I want to be a part of it! It’s no wonder it’s so expensive to live out there. But now being added to my bucket list is renting a convertible and driving up the coast of Cali with a friend or someone I love.

Last picture I took of the Hollywood sign before we almost got arrested for trespassing

I also had the opportunity to go with my parents to one of the parties my Dad’s company throws for the top advisors in his business. The theme was Hollywood Goes Bollywood and I definitely felt like a celebrity! Or an indian, maybe. There were 3 rooms full of amazing Indian and “Hollywood” food, Indian dancers, henna artists, photo booths, sari and turban outfitting stations, belly dancers with pythons and an open bar which led to a dance floor full of the most drunk middle aged people I’d ever seen. Oh and of course everything was free. Best. Party. Ever.

The Main Party Hall

One of the best things about the trip was getting to see my cousins I hadn’t seen in a long time. They came on most of our day trip excursions (even brought along some more friends too) and while hilariously dysfunctional (lots of yelling in heavy New York accents, the 10 year old stealing my phone to text people without my knowledge, almost getting killed multiple times a day in LA traffic, and my cousin’s friend ordering 8 ice cream sundaes without anyone’s knowledge) it was probably the most fun I’ve had in a while. It was so nice to get out of Hickory and spend time with people I love and don’t get to see that often. Being there made me more happy than I have been in a while too. It was like everything was more exciting in LA. It sounds cliche but it’s true. Really, it is.

Leave a Reply

