I did it!

I am finally packed. And I managed to fit everything into 2 suitcases and 1 carry on duffel bag. If you know me, you know how big of an accomplishment that is. It was a very stressful process. I sat on the floor in my room for a good 20 minutes just staring at everything I had to bring and wondering how the heck it was going to fit and still manage to comply with the 50 lbs airline weight limit. However, 5 hours and 10 trips to the scale later, I was finished! Such a relief. Except I still feel like I’m forgetting something….

I’m currently sitting in the airport now waiting for my flight to CT where I’ll be spending the week before London visiting friends. I had to say goodbye to my siblings last night (they weren’t going to wake up at 5am to see me off…I don’t blame them) and my parents this morning. It’s a strange feeling knowing you won’t be seeing your family for 3 and a half months. Normally when I head back to Elon I know I’ll see them in a month or so but I’ve never been away for this long. I’ll miss them a lot but I know I’ll be fine.

I can’t believe the summer is already over and before I know it I’ll be living abroad. A lot changed this summer, and I thought I would be at a very different point in my life than I am now. But oh well, life goes on, people change and we can never predict what’s going to happen next. It was a good summer though, filled with lots of family time and fun vacations. I feel like this summer just flew by though and now I’m afraid my time abroad will be over in the blink of an eye too.

Ok well we’re about to board so next time you hear from me I’ll probably be across the pond!

Leave a Reply

