Pedestrians don’t have the right of way

So after falling asleep last night at 9pm (I feel totally lame admitting this, I’m normally such a night owl), I was completely well rested for todays activities. Although on a weird side note, I woke up in the middle of the night fully rested and ready to leave. After launching myself out of bed, I grabbed my phone only to find it was only 2 am. Feeling very disoriented, I eventually fell back asleep and found out today multiple other people had the same experience. I don’t know why it was at that time though because 2 am here = 9 pm back home, which isn’t exactly waking up time. Who knows.

This morning we had orientation at our classroom building. We rode a double decker bus (!!) to the building (about 45 minutes away). That was my first time on a double decker, and I can take it everyday to class if I want. Getting to ride on a double decker as normal life? How cool is my life? We went through a few orientation sessions about living in London, safety (kind of scary, apparently people like knives a lot and the terrorism alert is severe here), and classes. The classroom building is in a really nice area though, with a cute park (Bloomsbury square) outside of it and lots of cafes and restaurants around the area. I had my first English fish and chips at a cute outdoor cafe. Outdoor dining is everywhere here and I love it!

We did a walking tour of the area and found out quickly that pedestrians do not have the right of way. After a few near death experiences, we figured out the right ways to look while crossing the street (this opposite side driving really throws me off) and managed to avoid the rest of the cars, bikes and buses. On the tour we went to this piazza (Covent Garden) which actually looked more like Italy or a European city rather than England. I got the most yummy gelato- caramello and cioccolata (yes I had to order it in Italian because nothing was in English).  It was 2 flavors for only £2.80, which we thought was a pretty good deal. After our walking tour was over we took the Tube to the Umi hotel for dinner. Walking down the stairs to the Tube I braced myself for the usual stench that the NYC subways hit you with but there was nothing! The stations are so clean and not smelly at all! Such a relief. Now we’re back at our flats getting ready to check out the London nightlife!

P.S. Happy September!

Geez how is it already september?? Where did the time go?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mandy
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 11:50:00

    Sounds like you are having fun! Oh and the tube is so clean, but just wait till you start blowing black stuff out of your nose. the one downside to being underground. And the walk is still coming – don’t give up on me!!!! 🙂

    Reply

  2. julesinlondon
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 13:13:07

    Haha that always happens to me in New York! We’ll see, we might be taking the buses more than the tube! And ok, I’m anxiously waiting this walk! haha miss you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

