Life is sweet

Ok it’s official, I’m never moving back to the United States.

If you know me, you know I have a major sweet tooth and much to my delight, English candy does more than just satisfy it.

Let’s be honest, the sweets here are just so much more awesome. In addition to having amazing candy of their own, they take American sweets and make them ten times better. Ex: Kit Kat Senses – Kit Kat’s filled with hazelnut praline creme.

Rewind like 6 years to my first experience of English candy: The Aero Bar. My friend from England had gone for a visit and brought some of these bars back. It was love at first bite. The bars are made by Nestle and have air bubbles in them so they’re very light. My favorite are the chocolate and mint ones. Of course I couldn’t find these bars in the US but was delighted to find them in Canada on our family vacation a couple years later, but haven’t had them since. I think you can guess what the first candy I bought here was.

The first time I approached a candy aisle here I literally was a kid in a candy shop. Thanks to Easter and Cadbury Creme Eggs, I love Cadbury chocolate which happens to be the major chocolate here (not Hershey’s). After having a couple weeks to try a good amount of different types, I’m here to tell you about my favorites (in no particular order).

Rowntree’s Randoms

I kid you not when I say these are the best gummies in the world. There is a large section of my suitcase being devoted to bringing these home in mass quantities. They literally are the most random shapes you could ever imagine (umbrellas, socks, alligators, ice cream cones, etc) and they have the best flavor. There are some that are just fruity, then some that are fruity with a marshmallowy bottom, and some that are kind of all marshmallowy (I don’t know how to describe these haha).

Aero Bar

I already described this above.

Kit Kat Senses.

Also above.

Cadbury Nibbles

These are little disks of chocolate that come either in milk, white, or dark chocolate or filled with caramel. The caramel are my favorite.

Starburst Choozers

These are like Gushers but they’re Starbursts filled with that gooey stuff. They have cool flavors like blueberry filled with lemon and mango filled with cherry.

Cadbury Twisted

A Cadbury Egg but in a cool twisty bar form. So basically more enjoyment for a longer time.

Now candy isn’t the only sweet thing here that I’ve fallen in love with.

*This deserves a drumroll*

CADBURY CRUNCHIE BLAST!!!!

The. Best. Ice. Cream. Bar. I. Have. Ever. Had.

The bars are honeycomb flavored ice cream covered in Cadbury chocolate that has popping candy in it (like Pop Rocks). You’re probably thinking this sounds weird, maybe disgusting. Don’t worry though, it’s normal to have these feelings at first. I did too. But then I took a bite. It’s a little piece of heaven.

Even our American fast food restaurants that they have here have cooler things. I haven’t had tried any of them yet but we’ve seen the menus/advertisements and it’s totally not fair. KFC has these awesome ice cream things called Krushems that look like Blizzards or McFlurrys and Burger King has ridiculously yummy sounding flavors of milkshakes. Will update on you when I try these.

Aaaaaand I made the best discovery the other day. There is a Krispy Kreme right around the corner from my school. Hollah!! I can officially move here now and not regret leaving any of my favorite eateries behind! And of course, they had better flavors here in addition to the originals. I had a Caramel Dreamcake donut, which is an amazing caramel filled, chocolate iced donut (they might have these in the states but in my 19 years of Krispy Kreme I have never seen them). Also on the menu: butterscotch fudge and coffee cream. Mmm

Update: just had the Butterscotch Fudge! It was like the chocolate ice creme filled donuts but the creme was butterscotch flavored. And there were pieces of caramel fudge on top. So yummy!

I hope I’ve made your mouth water at some point during this post and I promise I will continue to update you on my new sweet discoveries!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aunt Bern
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 15:35:53

    Julia, what is the name of the University you are attending in London? AB

    Reply

  2. caroline parish
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 11:42:15

    So glad you have discovered the food especially the chocolate and crisps. walkers smoky bacon and roast chicken are THE best. Also you can get crunchie bars without the ice cream they have been one of my all time favourites you have to try a topic bar, fruit pastilles, fruit gums,and wine gums. English chocolate and sweets are soooo much better than American. Glad to see you are having an awesome time over there. btw Alice stayed just outside of Bath as that is where my sister lives it is such a beautiful part of the country.

    Reply

    • julesinlondon
      Sep 20, 2010 @ 23:03:41

      I saw those chips and thought about trying them but i wasn’t sure how they were but now I’ll definitely have to! I’ve tried the crunchie bars and they’re good but I prefer the ice cream bars! And I’ve had wine gums too and those were really good too! It is much better here! I love England!

      Reply

  3. Mom
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 02:10:58

    Yumm!!! Remember to bring some over here!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

